COPPING COMMITTEE EXCELLENCE IN TEACHING

Established in 1997, the Allen A. Copping Excellence in Teaching Awards represent the preeminent recognition given to our full-time faculty for teaching each year. Department heads as well as students and resident leaders coordinate the faculty nominations in both the basic sciences and clinical sciences. A School of Medicine standing committee composed of faculty, administrators, students from all classes, and house officers reviews the nominating letters, curriculum vitas, and in the case of student or house officer nominations, a support letter from the department. The names of the finalists as voted on by the committee will be forwarded to the Dean, who will make the final decision. The awards are presented during the School of Medicine pre-commencement exercises.